Escaping the Blue Devils

Well, last weekend was an adventure. It was another quick trip home for the third Spirit preseason game of the year.

If you didn’t know this already, I fly standby thanks to my mom. She used to work in the airline business and now we are blessed with the ability to fly a lot. As you can tell, I take full advantage of that opportunity. This weekend, I managed to get the very last seat on a flight to D.C. because someone did not show up. Like we always say in our family “bless the non-rev gods.”

Once I got to Washington, my family picked me up and it was off to Germantown for the game. This week, the Spirit faced off against the Blue Devils of Duke University.

 

IMG_0393
Washington Spirit vs. Duke Blue Devils. April 1, 2017

Despite a few players being gone for international duty, the Spirit still managed to pull off the 4-3 victory. All of the players that scored in the match have represented the Spirit at some point. Both Imani Dorsey and Kayla McCoy played for the Washington Spirit reserves last summer.

After the game, we talked with head coach Jim Gabarra about the lessons learned from playing a team like Duke, how the midfield is shaping up, and how Francisca Ordega did in her first game of the preseason.

IMG_0399

Next up, we talked to Estelle Johnson on what it was like wearing the captain’s armband this week, what it’s like playing in a threeback, and how the rookies are adjusting to the professional level.

IMG_0401

Finally, we spoke with rookie Arielle Ship about coming to Washington, adjusting to the professional level, and the different formations. Unfortunately, I did not get video interviews this week. Hopefully, I will have them again soon.

This weekend, the Spirit play host to the University of Virginia Cavaliers. I will not be at that game this weekend because I will be over in Syracuse, New York watching the Syracuse University softball team take on number 1 ranked Florida State University.

I’ll be back next week with updates from Washington Spirit media day on Wednesday. Follow along on twitter @jols98 and @spiritcoverage. We will be putting out a lot of content this week as we gear up for opening weekend.

Until next time,

Jordan

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑