Washington Spirit Media Day 2017

This week I had the opportunity to head down to the Maryland SoccerPlex for the Washington Spirit’s Media Day. It was an amazing experience and I’m so glad I was able to attend.

I got to D.C. on Tuesday night and was able to eat dinner with my grandpa, my uncle, and my dad. Then on Wednesday morning, I got up really early and went to work with my dad. After eating breakfast and talking to some of my dad’s coworkers, I hopped in the car and headed over to the Plex.

Once I got there, a few of us media folks were able to sit and watch the team train for a couple of hours. This was really fun for me because I love getting to see people train. I think you can learn so much from watching them. My favorite part was watching the goalkeepers run through their individual workouts.

IMG_0449
They ended training with a small sided scrimmage type activity. 

Once practice was over, we went up to the stadium for the press conference. This happened in two groups, providing us with more people to talk to. The first group was more of the veterans and leaders of the team. The second group was more of the new players with exception of one.

After the group interviews were over, it was time for individual interviews. This is where we had the opportunity to interview players one-on-one. I had the chance to talk with goalkeeper DiDi Haracic and forward Katie Stengel.

 

 

IMG_0450
Team Follow Your Spirit out at the Washington Spirit Media Day.

Overall, this was a great day. One thing I did learn from this experience is that sunscreen is always a good choice. But in all seriousness, this was a great learning experience for me.

 

After we attended media day, Tim Lawson and I sat down to do a quick podcast before the season opener. The Spirit open up the 5th NWSL season at home against the North Carolina Courage on Saturday, April 15 at 3 p.m.

Until next time,

Jordan

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

