When the Tar Heels come to town

Saturday night, the University of North Carolina Tar Heels came to town. In the second game of the preseason, the Spirit beat the Tar Heels 5-0. This game was the very first time the Spirit played a match in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Getting to D.C. on Saturday was incredibly fun. When I got to the airport, I found out the Brockport Student Government president and chief of staff were also on my flight. They were headed to the AIPAC Policy Conference. The University of Rochester Student Government was also headed to the conference, so we had the opportunity to talk with them as well.

For the game itself, it was a beautiful night. I went from low 40s and raining in Brockport to 75 and sunny in northern Virginia. It was definitely a change that I was ok with. The stadium that the game was played in was very nice.

FullSizeRender.jpg

This complex is definitely somewhere I want to come back to if I get a chance. Just beyond the soccer field, there is a high ropes course and adventure park. I talked to one of the friends of the owner and he was telling us about how much fun you can have here.

IMG_0357.JPG

The press box was also gorgeous. It was all wooden interior with a very nice finish. Also, we got to sit in very comfortable rolling office chairs. Finally, they served us some amazing barbecue chicken sandwiches that I totally was into.

Look for another post from this game. I am going to put together a video package of postgame interviews with Kristie Mewis, Shelina Zadorsky, and head coach Jim Gabarra. That should be out later today. Tomorrow I’ll be going back to D.C. for round three of preseason. The Spirit will be welcoming the Duke Blue Devils to town. Kickoff is at 2 p.m. and you can follow along on twitter, where I will be live tweeting @jols98 or @spiritcoverage.

Until next time,

Jordan

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

