The First of Many

Yesterday I talked about the Spirit’s preseason opener from this past Saturday. Today I am going to do something a little different and talk about the first time I was given a media credential.

June 18, 2016 was a very special day. The Washington Spirit was hosting the Orlando Pride on a beautiful Saturday afternoon in Germantown, Maryland. The game that ended up occurring on the field was not what I will remember about that day. I will remember the impact that weekend had on the community as this game was the first sporting event played by an Orlando team after the horrible Pulse Night Club shooting just six days prior.

 

20160618_WashOrlando_0049.jpg
The grounds crew at the Maryland SoccerPlex created this beautiful piece of field art for the game.

This game was the first game that I was credentialed media for and I was so excited. I could not wait to get to the field and pick up my press pass. I had graduated high school just two days prior, so this was like a graduating gift for me.

IMG_8867 2

When the game was over, we walked down to the field for post-game interviews. It was really cool to be on the field after the game. It was a whole different view of the stadium.

IMG_8861
As you can tell, I was very excited.

Because of the events that had led up to this game, most of the talk in the interviews after the game was not actually about the game itself, but what soccer could do to help the mourning community in Orlando. Here is a clip I took of Orlando Pride goalkeeper Ashlyn Harris speaking after the game:

 

Once the game was over, I was walking back to where my parents were waiting for me. While I was walking, I managed to bump into Sebastian Salazar. He was working for Comcast SportsNet at the time, but now he works for ESPN. Long story short, Salazar is one of my favorite journalists and I love his work. I stopped to talk with him and we even got a picture together. Such a nice guy.

 

IMG_8865 2
Sebastian Salazar and I after the press conference.

That weekend was one I will never forget. It was the first step in what I hope to be a very long career in sports journalism.

Don’t forget, I’ll be back next week to talk about the Spirit’s second preseason match against the University of North Carolina.

 

Until next time,

Jordan

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

